“You lose the right to moan about society if you don’t vote”. “You have a chance to make a change by voting”. Have a laugh mate. I turned 18 the year before the last election in 2015 but I had no intention of voting and here’s why.

My decision was not out of apathy but out of a discordance and wariness toward generational political agendas that have created an unrepresented and despondent underclass. In my eyes, voting would be complicit. Complicit in the sense that I would be supporting a very narrow and prescribed paradigm that claims to serve the people but actually supports corporatocracy, capitalism and profit. I disagree with the idea that meritocracy justifies the current economic disparity in the UK and the world. I disagree with the defence of offshore bank accounts of global corporations that contribute to the fatal environmental issues we face today. I disagree with the strategic and hereditary perpetuation of inequality. I look past the UK. To me, our government is just another representational fragment of a global megastructure that includes the Rothschilds, the federal reserve, Arabian sultans, the IMF and Halliburton. To me, if I voted I would be agreeing that the powers that be in this world are helping everybody as they should be and would be putting my trust in them. I do not trust a word they say.

I remember watching the election campaigns and feeling sickened at how patronising they were. They were a cheesy pack of three-quarter-empty promises to lure as many votes as possible. “Tell them what they want to hear,” must’ve been the slogan behind closed doors. One particular advert encouraged a country where “people got up early, got the kids ready and put in the hours to provide for their families”. Scrap the last four words and replace them with ‘feed the bankers’. It went on: “where people who work hard are rewarded”.  Add on: ‘with austerity measures’. “Where businesses small and large are helped to grow and create the jobs we need…” “so that we can raise National Insurance”. I could go on.

Let’s blame the homeless for their own situation and forget about the Eton cronies who sit in parliament and take home stupendous amounts of money. Let’s ignore bank accounts in Panama and donate our minimum wage to charities that could’ve been helped by these accounts. Let’s look past it all and ‘just get on with it’. Call me negative. I’ll call you ignorant. Which, for the record, is not bliss

