tv-hypnotizesI’ve probably watched as much TV in 2 years as most people watch in a month and that is no exaggeration (excluding Netflix series). I have no interest in watching TV bar the odd episode of Family Guy, The Simpsons, Match of the Day, or Gillette Soccer Saturday. The last person I could tell you won x-factor is Alexandre Burke, and even then I thought it was JLS for a minute. I have never watched more than a couple of hours of Big Brother. I did go through a guilty-pleasure phase of watching TOWIE. I don’t have a clue what the Kardashians are doing and I don’t even know what song is number 1 in the charts. The last time I watched Eastenders was when Bradley fell off a roof and I’m not sure if they ever found the X that marked the spot on the beach. All in all, I really don’t care about ‘what’s’ going on in the world’ because I am more interested in what is going on in the world.

It is sad that the western society that exists today is engulfed in a whirlwind of consumerist trends and interests that have been created to provide such a convincing sense of realism and importance to what we consume. It is sad that our preferences and behaviours are influenced by people we idolize but don’t know, and people we follow but don’t see or speak to. It is sad that our moods are influenced by situations that have no relevance or significance to our lives. It is sad that we do not realise it is sad.

Showbiz is just a ‘convenient smoke screen’. By smoke screen I mean an illusion and a misrepresentation of reality. We are sold a reality that paints a picture that is in the artists’ best interests and not ours. Kim Kardashian, Real Housewives, Scotty T, Dot Cotton and a splash of Good Morning TV for good measure are a lot of people’s reality. The relevance of this is to understand that showbiz is one of the biggest contributors to the convenient smoke-screen that deflects our attention from what we should be questioning and raising awareness of. And if you can’t figure out what that is, stop breathing the smoke in.

